thankful

Tonight, as we drove home from dinner downtown, my family noticed a young girl with a sign that read “homeless”. There were a few more words along with it, but I was so taken aback by the situation that I couldn’t even read the rest. That girl, the girl on the corner, couldn’t have been any older than me. It is such a chilling reality that there are young people without a place to call home, especially with the recent below-zero days Chicago has been experiencing. As our car came to a stop at the red light, little Nick ran out of the car and handed her $40, which fortunately for us, is pocket change. The girl was so shocked, she began to cry. Hours later, as I write this, I still have tears in my eyes because my heart is broken for that young girl, and at the same time, I am so unbelievably thankful for this life I live.

Take a moment to look around you and give thanks to God for the roof over your head, the food on your table, and all the other blessings in your life! XO

One comment

Leave a Reply

