seven little valentines

“Happy Valentine’s Day! I left you a green juice in the ice box. Love you.”

My Valentine’s Day began with that text from my mom and was followed by another text from my first and forever valentine, my dad! I spent the day nannying for my babies. The older five were already at school when I arrived at the house, but their mom was sure to fill their day with all things Valentine. For breakfast, they had an egg casserole baked in a heart-shaped pan, topped with heart-shaped toast, along with a breakfast cocktail of sparkling cider and cranberry juice! Their snack for the day was popcorn covered with pink-dyed white chocolate & red m&ms! And for lunch they had heart-shaped raviolis.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

(I love her little feet, I can’t get over how perfect she is)

I spent the morning snuggling with the littlest ones as they napped and spending time with their grandma! I love when she comes over, too! While the babes were napping, we sipped coffee and chatted about life. It’s so nice to have someone to hang out with as I pick up toys or load a dishwasher!

  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

(just missing one of the four in their attempt to make hearts for my photoshoot)

As a treat for the Feast Day of Saint Valentine, we surprised the youngest three by taking them out of school an hour early and grabbing little brother from home so the four could attend the Valentine’s Day party at Pump-It-Up! We loveeeee Pump-It-Up, it’s our go-to escape from the bitter cold of Chicago when we absolutely cannot stand being stuck in the house any longer! When I picked up the kids from school, 4-year-old Andreana ran into my arms and told me I was her favorite nanny ever… we don’t need to discuss how I’m the only nanny she’s ever had ;)

After Pump-It-Up, we headed back home for dinner, which once again was Valentine’s themed! In an attempt to tie the already-planned-dinner of ribs into the theme, Momma Akroush told the kids that they were eating ribs, because in the first love-story ever, Adam & Eve, God took one of Adam’s ribs to create Eve. I thought she did a pretty good job of making that one fit into our Valentine’s Day theme ;) To end the day, I took Alia, the oldest of the seven, home to my house for a sleep-over! We came home to homemade cupcakes from my mom, with raspberry frosting and dark chocolate pieces, which were to-die-for! It was so fun to spend some time with Alia, alone- most of the time I’m too busy demanding different things from her- like “pick this up”, “hold the baby”, “clean your room”- to really enjoy her company! We sat in bed and giggled about things that 13-year-olds like to talk about: One Direction, goofy boys and her upcoming ski trip. It was a wonderful Valentine’s Day! I hope you all feel as loved as I did, on Valentine’s Day and every day of the year!

(it’s a tradition in our house to decorate the table for everyone’s birthday)

I’m looking forward to the rest of this lovely weekend! Today we are celebrating my daddy’s birthday by heading up to King’s Bowling Alley in Rosemont for a little upscale bowling. And it only gets better, tomorrow afternoon I’m going to brunch with Geena’s dear friend, Liz, to gush together over G & Bradley’s impending nuptials and tomorrow night, my momma and I are heading to the Justin Timberlake concert!

Enjoy your weekend! xo

Leave a Reply

