usual tuesday

If I was just a little more creative I would have come up with an awesome title for this post, but I’m not. So, we’ll just have to deal with that. This post is simply a compilation of different things I’ve been thinking about and feeling recently! And because of the lack of creativity on my part, I’m using a similar format to one of Geena’s recent posts! Sorry, G, but they do say imitation is sincerest form of flattery :)

Thought 1:

I find myself saying things like that often- “If I was just a little more prayerful…”, “If I was a lot less impulsive…”, “If I could just be more helpful…” But why can’t I just be OK with how I am at this moment? God accepts me just as I am; all the little flaws I find everyday, He put them there, He has planned out every second of my life. I take comfort in the fact that God has my life in His hands. As my dear friend suffers through a break-up, I have been constantly reminding her of God’s plan for her life. That He, obviously, is preparing her heart for a greater love. I feel somewhat helpless because there is really nothing I can do to make this better; this is a healing process that she has to deal with on her own- all she can do is take everything to prayer. Christ is the ONLY one who can make her heart whole again! If you’re looking for a reminder of God’s plan, check out Jeremiah 29: 11-13,  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” 

Thought 2:

I am beyond excited for this Saturday! In the morning, Liz and I are heading to The Brow Bar downtown to get our eyebrows done then we are going to Madewell on Rush to look at a potential Bridesmaid Dress for G’s wedding! After our city adventure, we are heading back to the suburbs for an appointment at the salon for Liz- maybe I’ll find something I need done while we are there ;) I love days of pampering! In the evening, the fabulous Brittany from The Lily Field is coming over to talk to a few of my friends & I about the basics and benefits of Natural Family Planning (NFP)!

Thought 3:

Today, while on the phone with Geena, we were talking about post-wedding plans: where she & Brad were going to live, jobs, ect… and I said something like, “Oh! It’s going to be so nice just to spend time with your husband!”. It was so cool to say that out loud. We’ve been talking about our “husbands” forever and now, she’s found hers! While I’m still asking myself the question: who will I marry, G’s preparing to walk down the aisle and enter into the sacrament of marriage; Bradley was the answer to her question! I can’t wait to spend the weekend with her at the end of the month!

Thought 4:

I spent my Fat Tuesday how I spend all my Tuesdays… eating ;) just kidding, kinda! Today, I took the two year old I nanny for, Alexander, to Costco. We grabbed a few things for his momma and then treated ourselves to lunch. I don’t care what anyone says, Costso rocks! Everything about it is awesome, from all the cool products to their yummy samples! After our Costo trip, we headed home to get the other kids from school. I was feeling generous, or craving ice cream, but I’d like to go with the first option, so I took the kids to Plush Horse, our favorite little ice cream place in Palos! It was a fun day of giving into our glutenous whims.

I’ve been spending the past few days thinking about what I want to give up for Lent. In the past, I’ve used Lent as my “Catholic Girl Diet”- giving up sweets or snacks to get skinny rather than as a sacrifice to unite myself to Christ on the Cross. This year, I want to use Lent to grow in my relationship with Christ. So if anyone has ideas, feel free to send them my way!

Though 5:

I want to thank my incredibly talented friend, Melissa, from Summaria Design, for designing my new logo for the blog! She was so easy to work with and understood my vision for the logo from the get-go! I keep thinking about what I can use her for next! Check out her website if you’re looking for an awesome Graphic Designer! I’m so lucky to call her my friend!

 

Happy Mardi Gras! xo

5 comments

  1. This is so cute Mel, and that’s an awesome Scripture! I often get so frustrated about my flaws, but this is a great reminder to be more gentle with myself because it’s all part of God’s plan. I want to use Lent to work through some of these flaws that I have control over and hopefully make more time for God. Can’t wait for Saturday, and thanks for linking to my blog :)

  2. I’m lucky to have you, Melbel. You an Liz better send so many photos in Saturday! Also, I can’t wait to be a wife! Exciting stuff. Please tell me all about the NFP class. Wink, wink. Too obvious?? Awkward?? XO

Leave a Reply

