firmly planted friendships

(G and her bridal party; women who inspire me daily. photo shamelessly stolen from Katrina.)

 

I was in middle school when my mom told me, “show me who your friends are, and I’ll show you who you are,” or something to that notion. As a twelve year old little girl, I had absolutely no idea how true this would ring throughout my life!

Earlier in the week, I received a text from a dear friend of mine, Angela, saying she was going to be in town over the weekend! I haven’t seen Angela since I was in high school, so I jumped at the opportunity to see her! Angela was my youth group leader my sophomore year, and she rocked. I can’t imagine how difficult her job was; Katie & I were not as in to our weekly meetings as we should’ve been, and we used the time to discuss our latest gossip rather than the gospel like we were supposed to. Angela always figured out a way to reel us back in each time and give us some sort of advice or reflection. I’m so thankful for her.

As I sat at dinner last night with Angela, her sweet sister, Anna, from In Honor of Design, and a few of their friends, I couldn’t help but thank God for placing such incredible women in my life! I really only knew Angela, and was meeting the rest of the girls for the first time, but it felt like I had known them for years. All of us are at different stages of our lives; Anna is a wife & mother, one of the other girls was newly married, and the rest of us were either single or just dating. Ordinarily, having such a random group of women meet for the first time would make for an awkward night; however, this was different. All these women shared a real love for The Lord and the conversations were beautiful. They were honest conversations about dating, work, marriage, and motherhood. You name it, we talked about it. Oh, it was so good!

The older I get, the more I have realized that when you have a true friendship with someone, and they have similar friendships with their friends, mixing groups of friends is easy. Take Geena’s bridal party for example, we were 5 friends and a whole bunch of sisters, and thats A LOT of different personalities mixing. But because we all shared a common love for Christ and Brad & Geena, we all got along so well. Between the 5 of her friends that stood up in her wedding, none of us live near each other. Cullen is all the way out West, in California, I’m in Chicago, Tara is in Philli, Liz in DC, and Theresa is in NY; but when we get together it feels like we’ve grown up together, like we were childhood friends that have been reunited. In reality, we rarely see each other and some of us have only known each other for a few short months.

The same thing goes for friends that I have known forever, and for the ones I’ve made more recently at college. The friendships that have lasted are the ones that have something deeper to them. We may have had commonalities at first, like being roommates or classmates, but the friendships that survived (ugh, for lack of a better word) are the ones that are rooted in something bigger. Sometimes, you may have nothing in common with someone, and God still turns an awkward walk around the park into a beautiful, eleven year and counting friendship.

The point in making, in case my rambling isn’t very clear, is that when you have a friendship planted firmly in Christ, it’s easy. The conversations flow, friends mingle so well, and days may pass without talking but there’s this deep love that doesn’t need daily talks, just an understanding that no matter what happens you’ll be the first one to answer a phone call or say a quick prayer in a time of need. And I don’t know about you, but to me, those are the BEST friendships.

2 comments

  1. All of this is so true! I remember my friend Aubry’s older sister Danielle (the singer you need to listen to!) telling me that our friendship (the one between Aubry and me) would be different from others because it was planted firmly in Christ.

    I’m so glad you had a great weekend!

    1. Katrin bean! That was fun to head down to the comment section to comment, and then see your name, and then see my name mentioned under your name :) Melanie (and Katrina!), I completely agree, the sad reality that I have found from years of many of my friendships NOT being firmly planted in Christ, is that they slowly dissolve. The only friendships that seem to be rooted forever in the grounds of eternity are those where both share the same desire to put one foot in front of the other, walking the earthly walk straight to Heaven & making every life decision based on that desire. Go faith-filled friendships! The best kind!

Leave a Reply

